Each year, we celebrate those who follow Eleanor Roosevelt’s powerful example of championing workers’ rights as human rights.

This year, we will be honoring:

Our very own Sarita Gupta, who will receive a distinguished legacy award for her 20-plus years of dedication and unwavering commitment to the Jobs With Justice network and labor movement.

Geoffrey Owens, a well-known actor and educator, for sparking a critical national conversation around the dignity of work and what it means to be a working person in an industry often popularized by wealth and glamour.

Association of Flight Attendants-CWA President Sara Nelson for her leadership and strong stand calling for the labor movement to support a general strike to end the government shutdown.

2019 Discount Foundation Legacy Awardee Odessa Kelly, for her inspiring and unwavering dedication to the social and economic justice movements, through her remarkable leadership in organizing the working people of Nashville to win concrete improvements in their lives, communities, and workplaces.

The evening will also feature the return of our highly-acclaimed silent auction.

Buy your tickets or become a sponsor today!

The Details

June 27, 2019
5:30 p.m. – Reception
6:30 p.m. – Seated Program

Shakespeare Theatre Company | Sidney Harman Hall
Washington, DC 20004

Attend the Event:

Individual tickets can be purchased for $175.

Learn more about sponsorship opportunities and ads here.

See the list of amazing items up for bid at the return of our acclaimed silent auction!

Honorary Host Committee:
David Blumenstein, The Segal Group
James Boland, BAC
Eric Dean, Iron Workers
Mark Dimondstein, APWU
Steve Greer, American Income Life
Mary Kay Henry, SEIU
Thea Lee, EPI
John Marco, Segal Marco Advisors
Keith Mestrich, Amalgamated Bank
Christine L. Owens, NELP
Marc Perrone, UFCW
Ai-jen Poo, NDWA & Caring Across Generations
Kenneth E. Rigmaiden, IUPAT
Lee Saunders, AFSCME
Chris Shelton, CWA
Edward M. Smith, Ullico
Richard Trumka, AFL-CIO
Randi Weingarten, AFT

The Sarita Gupta Legacy Committee:
Dimple Abichandani
Julia Beatty
Heather Booth
Denise Bowyer
John Cavanagh
Larry Cohen
Bill Dempsey
Sheri Davis-Faulkner & Na'im Faulkner
Fatima Goss Graves
Lara Granich
Pronita Gupta & Deepak Pateriya
Marielena Hincapé
Bill Fletcher
Saru Jayaraman
Thea Lee
Esther Lopez
Jack Marco
Mary Beth Maxwell
Elissa McBride
Harold Meyerson
Brenda Muñoz & Prasi Gupta
Ai-jen Poo
Carmen Rojas
Laine Romero-Alston
Chris Sanders
Amy Smoucha
Marilyn Sneiderman & Stephen Lerner
Saket Soni
Dorian Warren

Past Honorees:
See a list of past recipients of the Eleanor Roosevelt Human Rights Award.